Stop restoring long deleted files
OneDrive has a horrible habit of restoring long deleted files and I know the cause. I commission one of my clients laptops manually and therefore logon as my account to install software. OneDrive is synchronised on this computer. I then typically don't logon for months but when I do, OneDrive assumes that the files found locally are new and re-synchronises them back even though they were deleted afterwards on another computer. This might not seem like a big problem except today is restored an old script with a similar name which had been deleted. I didn't spot this and ran the wrong script and bang - trashed machine! OneDrive has a fundamental flaw in going back to old installations esp. when restoring images/VM snapshots.
Rob Nicholson commented
Needless to say Dropbox and Google Drive which I also use does not suffer from this bug. It's a fundamental design issue IMO (speaking as a programmer)