Remove synced file when team site permissions change
Consider the following scenario:
1) Create a folder in a team site
2) Have person X use the OneDrive for Business sync client to sync the team site to their PC
3) Change permissions on the folder such that person X no longer has even read or view access.
4) Have person X sync.
The files they no longer have access to remain on their PC. This is a fairly major security problem. Support told me that when permissions change I need to have everyone remove and recreate their syncs. This is obviously completely impossible to actually make work in a company or team site of any real size.
The sync needs to include permissions metadata, and the sync client needs to remove local copies of folders and files that user is no authorized to view. This is absolutely critical for HR, finance, etc. type documents.
Jyoti verma commented
My whatsap is bannd
Also really need this.
At the moment if we don't stop the sync in OneDrive prior to removing permissions, the client just crashes.
Michael Mardahl commented
You could modify my script to do this, I dont think it would be to hard.
Jamie Hutton commented
This is absolutely essential for ISO27001 compliance. Typically we give access to people based on user role. when their roles change we need to be able to remove access to the contents of sharepoint sites.