OneDrive Sync with On-Demand does not remove folders from the Sync'ed folder when "stop sync" is selected
When On-Demand is selected and a document library (say "Document Library 1") is synced using OneDrive. If a user decides to "Stop sync" "document library 1". OneDrive stops syncing the library but the folder "document library 1" is not removed from the synced OD folder under.
Talking to support, the product team is saying that this behavior is as designed, because the they did want the application to delete the folder from the users machine but this sounds as a bug to me as un-synced folders should disappear from the users synced folders view. Otherwise this leaves room for a lot of error as users can easily start handling stale files that are not syncing back to SPO.
This is definitely a bug as - when on-demand is not checked the folders get removed as expected.
Matthew Klemesrud commented
I'm in agreement, end users should not have to understand the folders that are stale and take manual action having asked the sync client to stop syncing. Additionally libraries that are removed stop syncing and users may not be aware that this is the case given they didn't take the stop sync action themselves.