Prevent shared file to be deleted by other users
When sharing a file from OneDrive for Business, users with edit permission can delete the file. They can open the document, click the top left breadcrumb to access the user's OneDrive where they can delete the file. I understand that technically, sharing creates a sharepoint permission etc... However from a user point of view, this doesn't make sense. You don't share a document from your OneDrive in the intend to let other people delete it. In an O365 group I understand but from it's personal space ? I have already multiple cases of people deleting someone else file and it has never been on purpose. Some users simply don't understand what they do. At least a notification that someone deleted your file would help as it is easy to restore it. I explain the users why there files have been deleted but technicalities do not interest them, they want the tool to functionally work as they suppose it would.
Ali Wasti commented
Agreed. The fact that anyone who is given the 'Edit' link can go in and delete files, delete subfolders and so on, makes this a virtually useless feature.
And to add insult to injury, when one does share with the Edit link, there is no warning that anyone you share that link with could just delete all your share stuff.
Max Aldén commented
I agree. If a person shares a document to me (read/write), I can also move the document to my own non shared OneDrive folder. A shared document should only be editable, my opinion.