Don't display path to shared folder (all parent folders are visible)
When sharing a folder, anyone can see the whole file path to that shared folder.
There is no privacy if every user with the link can see my drive structure.
I know that they cannot access or see the other files or folders but I am very concerned about all people clicking through my folder tree.
In Google Drive for example, only the Name of the shared folder and the tree for the sub folders of said shared folder is displayed, not all the parent folders like in OneDrive.
This is a huge no-go!
Pia Wiche commented
I actually liked that feature. In my case I WANT the other people to see the full route, specially when I am sharing subfolders one at a time. How can I still do this?
Joel Rowley commented
This needs fixed ASAP. I find I don't want to use OneDrive for file sharing because of this. Usually revert to Google Drive.
This is close to being an information disclosure security vulnerability. Nobody would intend this information to be public. It's deeply concerning that it hasn't been fixed.
Ciprian Dan commented
This is a huge privacy concern. The only directory viewable should be the one that is shared. Please fix ASAP!
Cristian C. commented
Please take a look at this Microsoft. It's really annoying, I don't want my clients to see the path to their folder and how I organize my folders.
There should be only the name of the folder in question and not the whole string.
This would also eliminate the other problem I have with OneDrive, that I posted here with archives. I would stop sharing archives and share folders if the full path would be removed.
I agree. When sharing a folder, I have no desire to expose my folder structure to them. It's just meaningless information anyway (Why should they care about my folder structure) and at worst it can possibly disclose sensitive information accidentally (may be the Client Name or something else that's part of the folder structure).
Tom K commented
What makes it worse is when you create a link to a PDF and decide to test it first in a logged-out browser - you see the folder page with the path for just a fraction of a second before it opens the file. You're left with this horrifying uncertainty: what if I was really quick at clicking on one of those parent folders? Would I be able to see the private documents? Have I accidentally shared more than I expected?
This kind of uncertainty over what is and isn't private should be eliminated from the UI.
Mehul Shah commented
I used to copy the folder to some other location and then share it so that the person to whom I am sharing the folder don't see my whole path.
Totaly agree! It makes no sence when you share one file without sharing whole path to it.