Allow users to share everything when sharing folder.
Today when sharing a folder with a user, the user would not see some of the files contained in that folder. Files that are not visible to users are previously shared with others by sharing those individual files. All files that had not been individually shared are fine and the user having folder level access see them.
This is an inheritance issue.
This might be "working as intended" but it would be helpful to have a checkbox on the folder level Share dialog to allow users to share everything under that folder including unique permission items.
Similar to what we currently see when we go to Advanced page and Grant someone permission.
Eli Robillard commented
Agree - when sharing a folder, the folder should always be the scope of the shared content. Granting permissions on a subset of files (e.g. 2-3 files within a folder) should not create what amounts to its own separate container with unique permissions that must be granted separately; it must not alter the meaning of "folder-scoped permissions." The worst consequence would be that when the file-scoped permissions expire or are removed, what happens to the folder-scoped permissions? Whether they revert to folder-scoped, or still exclude the file-scoped permissions, both outcomes are equally terrible.