Prevent shared files from being downloaded
I think it would be great if there was some setting to turn download's of a shared file or folder ON\OFF... what I mean is suppose I want to share a File\Folder with someone, I would only want them to be able to view\edit it online and not be able to download it onto their computer.. to take this idea further, it could also be helpful if you could prevent copying content from shared files... the download permission could probably be visible once a user decides to share a particular file with someone
Earlier this year, across the various options of sharing links, we introduced the capability of “block download” enabling you to keep your content in the cloud by not allowing users to download Office files. This capability helps you avoid out of date copies and maintain access control. Today, we are glad to announce that shortly, you will be able to apply the same functionality to images, 3D, PDF files and more.
I totally agree. Also I noticed a person made a correction on a shared file and I could not see it in the original file. I came to know about it by a printed copy.
in my opinion this is a huge oversight... every document that is shared is not meant to be downloaded.. sometimes its only meant to be verified by other people..