Prevent shared files from being downloaded
I think it would be great if there was some setting to turn download's of a shared file or folder ON\OFF... what I mean is suppose I want to share a File\Folder with someone, I would only want them to be able to view\edit it online and not be able to download it onto their computer.. to take this idea further, it could also be helpful if you could prevent copying content from shared files... the download permission could probably be visible once a user decides to share a particular file with someone
We’ve rolled out an update which includes support for PDF files, images, audio and other file formats. This update doesn’t yet include support for video files but we’re working on it and will have more to share soon!
Mary G commented
Absolutely agree that the ability to restrict downloading by having "a view only" permission would be a highly valuable feature. I can think of many small businesses that would be thrilled to have that feature as well. For example, sensitive internal business files could be reviewed in a browser but the file couldn't be downloaded and sent on to unauthorized recipients.
I totally agree. Also I noticed a person made a correction on a shared file and I could not see it in the original file. I came to know about it by a printed copy.
in my opinion this is a huge oversight... every document that is shared is not meant to be downloaded.. sometimes its only meant to be verified by other people..