When deleting and O365 Buisness user, make it easy to move the files/folders to another user.
When an employee that uses OneDrive for Business leaves the organization there should be an option to move their files to another employee (superior, replacement, temporary, etc.).
Instead of having to download and then reupload the files to another user, it should be an option during the user deletion to move the files.
We recently added the ability to transfer ownership to another user when deleting a user’s account from AAD from the M365 admin portal. If no entry is provided, the default will transfer to the manager. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/onedrive/retention-and-deletion
The manager or newly assigned owner will have the ability to sync that content or download and then move to a shared library or their own OneDrive.
Shreesha Muthyala commented
Suppose my company has 100 shared folders. And each folder has multiple files created by different users. If one of the user is deleted all the files created by that user in each of the 100 shared folders will disappear?
So one will have to go to each of those 100 folders download that user's files and then re-upload them?
That sounds absurd and will take hours to do? Why does Microsoft not have a way to handle deleted user files?
Yes yes yes, a million times yes. We offer both Google Apps and O365. The requirement to download MS files before transfer really makes OneDrive look terrible by comparison.
Ralph Haney commented
Wow, this is stupid. It is readily available in Google Apps. Transferring data ownership from exited users to other users is going to be a royal pain. They shouldn't call it "For Business" when it clearly cannot handle enterprise account administrative functionality. :(