OneDrive


Feedback by UserVoice

Dave

My feedback

  1. 1,132 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Dave commented  · 

    This issue is not acknowledged in the newest announcement pushing this sync client to all customers.

    https://support.office.com/en-gb/article/Learn-more-about-the-Sync-button-update-on-SharePoint-sites-9762aef3-d17f-4486-aae3-9c20bb979cbf?ui=en-US&rs=en-GB&ad=GB

    No mention that under Draft Item Security checking "Who should see draft items in this document library? : Only users who can edit items" should cause all files to sync read only.

    I'll say again as I have in another post, this feature is one of the very few reasons we even use Sharepoint.

    Dave supported this idea  · 
  2. 2,236 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Dave supported this idea  · 
    Dave commented  · 

    The more information support page (https://support.office.com/en-gb/article/Learn-more-about-the-Sync-button-update-on-SharePoint-sites-9762aef3-d17f-4486-aae3-9c20bb979cbf?ui=en-US&rs=en-GB&ad=GB) on the latest changes states:

    "The following types of libraries will transition from the old sync client as read-only:

    -Libraries that contain multiple required columns, extra metadata, or custom columns. See Create a column in a SharePoint list or library.
    -Libraries that require check-out of files."

    However, apparently these are not the only circumstances.

    Our sharepoint site/document library has:

    1. No mandatory columns.
    2. No metadata (?)
    3. No required check out

    However, in Library Settings under Document Version History we have "Create major and minor (draft) versions Example: 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 2.0" checked.

    And, under Draft Item Security we have "Who should see draft items in this document library? : Only users who can edit items" checked.

    This scenario also causes files to sync as read only. Checking "Any user who can read items" makes it sync properly, but this defeats the purpose of draft items.

    I was so excited to move to the new Sync Client because the old one periodically needed reinstalled/reconnected to fix sync errors. But with this new client, we actually lose the functionality that makes it worth using at all...

Feedback and Knowledge Base