49 votes2 comments · OneDrive on Windows » Desktop (Sync, Files On-Demand) · Flag idea as inappropriate… · Admin →
We recently added the ability to transfer ownership to another user when deleting a user’s account from AAD from the M365 admin portal. If no entry is provided, the default will transfer to the manager. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/onedrive/retention-and-deletion
The manager or newly assigned owner will have the ability to sync that content or download and then move to a shared library or their own OneDrive.Arun Patel commented
I cannot believe its been over 2 years since this suggestions and still nothing has been done. This is becoming more and more of an issue. The whole process of having to download files and reload them is time consuming and should be unnecessary in this day and age.
Additionally this process would impact the whole data retention/compliance process as surely it would be treated as a new file and any historic information relating to the file gets lost.