OneDrive


Feedback by UserVoice

Anonymous

My feedback

  1. 57 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    2 comments  ·  OneDrive Sharing & Collaboration  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Anonymous commented  · 

    Why woudl this not possibly be a default option, this is the most common option that would be used when you have already setup security.

    Anonymous commented  · 

    There are 4 choices when you share a link, however in both sharepoint admin and onedrive admin there are only 3 choices to which you can select as the default link type.

    Logically If there are 4 choices that are presented to a user there should be a way an administrator can default it to one of those 4 choices. The lack of having the ability to set the default to "People with Existing Access" is absurd. At a company or at least at mine system adminsitratros go to great length to pre-setup all the security for all the directories/files that people share and have access (just like one would do in windows itself) so users don't have to think about it. This helps secure things properly and leads to less accidents.

    Its not a problem for when your on a domain, as users would have to have access to your network to see the document. On "OneDrive" there is much higher potential for accidents as one only needs access to the internet to access the document. Thus telling user just ignore it, or surf to it yourself if you already have access is absurd.

    99.9999% of time people ask do you know where this or that document is. The nice thing to do is provide them with a link, however each and every time I have to change the type of link to "People with existing access" this is getting old and is quite painful. My users have to do this as well, then they call me and ask, which one do I pick to keep things the same (which should be their behavior most of the time, don't change anything just get the link) From my standpoint at least "People with existing access" should be the default out of the box for business, because if no one has access even if you share the link, no one can see it.

    Microsoft has made it very hard just to do what woudl be a very common thing and get a link and change nothing.

    Microsoft what is the status on this?

    Anonymous supported this idea  · 
  2. 268 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Anonymous supported this idea  · 
  3. 6 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Anonymous commented  · 

    Please do this. The links are enormus people are afraid of them. Has to be a better way

    Anonymous supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base